Meet the jury!

Here they are, the Animateka 2014 international jury, the 5 renowned artists and conoisseurs of animated film that will choose which film gets the RTV SLO Jury Grand Prix.


Akinori Oishi, Animateka’s artist in residence 2014, is an internationally acclaimed multimedia artist from Japan. He studied fine arts at Kyoto City University of Art, and later developed skills in multimedia at IAMAS (International Academy of Media Arts and Sciences / Japan).


Andreas Hykade is one of the most talented and original voices in animation today. He comes from Germany, studied animation at the prestigious Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg until 1995 and has since created a series of commercials, TV projects and animated films mostly for adults.


Tess Martin is an American independent animator who works with cut-outs, ink, paint, sand or objects. She is the recipient of numerous grants in support of her films, including The Whale Story, animated on a 16 foot high wall in a public park. Her most recent films are The Lost Mariner, an animated interpretation of an Oliver Sacks case study, and Mario, a paint on glass film based on an Italian folk song.


Cecilia Traslaviña González comes from Colombia, she works in the Visual Arts Department of the Javeriana University as animation teacher. She had been a jury member in short film festivals in Colombia and abroad. She has given lectures on Colombian animation at various national and international events.


John Canciani from Switzerland is the artistic director of the Internationale Kurzfilmtage Winterthur and is programmer at the Filmfoyer Winterthur. He curated several programs with Short and Feature Length Films like “Moving Art II – O Cinema where are thou?“, “Heavy Metal“, “VROOOM!“, “Ivan Ladislav Galeta“ Retrospective, “George Mélies and Turntables“, “Who’s afraid of the Public?“, “9/11“, “Women in early Japanese Film“, “Tattoo im Film“, "Blow-Up, der voyeuristische Blick".

But that’s just a quick overview of what our jurors have achieved, so if you want to know more about this year’s jury, click here - or come meet them personally at Animateka!

For a better user experience and traffic analysis we avail cookies. By visiting this page you automatically agree to the terms of use. More info

Web cookies